Miller takes the job as Roughriders' Head Coach

The Place for BC Lion Discussion. A forum for Lions fans to talk and chat about our team.
Discussion, News, Information and Speculation regarding the BC Lions and the CFL.
Prowl, Growl and Roar!

Moderator: Team Captains

WestCoastJoe
Hall of Famer

ROSSLEY AMONG TILLMAN'S OPTIONS

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

By Darrell Davis, Regina Leader-Post

If he were to be hired as the Saskatchewan Roughriders' head coach, Tom Rossley already has some experience with the CFL team.

"I just came up there last year,'' Rossley said Tuesday from Texas. "I was a guest coach at training camp. It was a fun time for me. They had great players and coaches; I was real proud of them going all the way and winning the Grey Cup. I wouldn't say I had anything to do with it, but I was proud to have been associated with them.''

Rossley is among the head-coaching candidates being considered by Roughriders general manager Eric Tillman, who has known Rossley since they were football neophytes (and roommates) with the CFL's Montreal Concordes in the early 1980s. Rossley coached Montreal's running backs and receivers while Tillman was the director of player personnel. In 1993, when he was the B.C. Lions' general manager, Tillman nearly hired Rossley.

"I offered him the head coaching job in B.C. before I offered it to Dave Ritchie,'' said Tillman. "He turned it down to stay at SMU.''

Rossley recalled that offer and how it subsequently led him back to Southern Methodist University, where he served as head coach from 1991-96.

"I actually accepted (Tillman's offer) for a day,'' said Rossley. "When I went back to my school, they made it too lucrative for me to leave.

"Eric's a great person and a good friend. We've known each other for quite a few years. I had not met Kent Austin before last year, but I knew of him. He's a real, sharp coach. I could see why other teams would want him.''